BOOK REVIEW: FORTY RULES OF LOVE

MONTHLY READ- FEBRUARY

IMG_5496

“A great book should leave you with many experiences, and slightly exhausted at the end. You live several lives while reading.” This is what William Styron said and this what forty rules of love did for me.

Back cover summary:
Ella Rubinstein has a husband, three teenage children, and a pleasant home. Everything that should make her confident and fulfilled. Yet there is emptiness at the heart of Ella’s life – an emptiness once filled by love.
So when Ella reads a manuscript about the thirteenth century Sufi poet Rumi and Shams of Tabriz, and his forty rules of life and love, her world is turned upside down. She embarks on a journey to meet the mysterious author of this work.

Forty rules of love by Elif Shafak was one of the books I really really wanted to read and to be honest it was because of the title. I got hold of it in PDF form when I was in Riyadh and went through the first 90 pages in two nights. It was so captivating that I hated reading it on the iPad (kinda old school that way). The feel of holding the book and flipping page after page is just really essential, at least to me. So I decided I’ll read when I get a hardcopy.

I loved it, absolutely loved it. Everyone relates to stories in different ways. Mainly because we have our own personal experiences and that helps us see things under the light of our own perception. To me, it related deeply in a personal way with the aspect of how we need and do come across that someone who suddenly gives our lives a whole new perspective and makes us see life in a completely different manner. It’s like enlightenment from within by better understanding of you with the help of another.

Another reason for loving the book was because it opened up my mind to a few things that I already did know but had them stored in the dark room in my brain. Forty rules of love left me as a better person; for me, it completely falls into the category of the books that changed your life.

It’s difficult to choose when all of it had so many parts that I loved, so here are a few:

  • It was always like this. When you spoke the truth, they hated you.
  • Human beings tended to disparage what they couldn’t comprehend.
  • Having roots nowhere, I have everywhere to go.
  • No matter who we are or where we live, deep inside we all feel incomplete. Its like we have lost something and need to get it back. Just what that something is, most of us never find out. And of those who do, even fewer manage to go out and look for it. ( personal fav)

There are just so many of these pleasing words that it will make this review super long. So, just go read it and see how you like it. Do update!
Happy reading…

Signing off

XOXO… AmnaOnline

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: FORTY RULES OF LOVE

Leave a Reply

